Is your PhD like Skyrim?

Last week, a good friend of mine commented that she hadn’t seen any blog posts from me in a while. It’s something that’s been in the back of my mind. What with a PhD and a part-time job, I’ve been very busy recently and this blog has suffered.

Since my last post, I’ve almost completed a major documentation-writing project at my part-time job, I’ve planned and conducted a pilot, written up that pilot, and planned a larger, proof-of-concept study. I’ve also written a guest post for PhD2Published, summarising my first PhD-as-video-game posts from my blog.

But I haven’t written here. I’ve been waiting for a large, interrupted period of time to really think about what I want to do next on this blog. This mystical period of time has not availed itself to me. Any large periods of time have been spent doing PhD work, cooking, or (let’s be honest) playing Skyrim.

Have you played Skyrim? It’s a roleplaying game, or RPG. I’m playing it on my laptop, via Steam, using an xbox 360 controller, although you can also play it on xbox 360. It is utterly addictive. In fact, it is a magnificent illustration of a motivating game that just makes you come back for more. It is almost exactly what I am trying to replicate in my PhD working methods (although there would be a great danger of becoming a workaholic…). I probably shouldn’t share how many hours I’ve spent playing this game in the past 2 months.

I’d like to devote a few blog posts to some similarities between academic work and Skyrim. At the moment, this idea is very much in the formative stages. Currently, I’m considering a post on dragons, how they can upset your gameplay, and how you can work them to your academic advantage; a post on skill training, and the challenges of deciding where to focus your time and energy; and a post on time, effort, and achievement, and on how one does not necessarily equal the other.

I’ll try to write these posts in a way that will be informative and engaging to people who have, and people who haven’t, played Skyrim. Is there anything in particular that you would like to see covered in these posts? Would you like to make your PhD more like Skyrim? Do you have any tips? Let me know in the comments section below.

One comment

  1. You can look into Csikszentmihalyi’s idea of flow

    “Flow tends to occur when a person faces a clear set of goals that require appropriate responses.”p.29
    “Flow activities allow a person to focus on goals that are clear and compatible. Another characteristic of flow activities is that they provide immediate feedback.”p.30
    “Flow tends to occur when a person’s skills are fully involved in overcoming a challenge that is just about manageable.”p.30

    Csikszentmihalyi, M. (1997). Finding Flow: The Psychology of Engagement with Everyday Life. New York: BasicBooks.

Leave a Reply

