PC World selling the Nook Simple Touch with Glowlight…or are they?

After some online research, my fiancee and I decided that the Nook Simple Touch with Glowlight was the way to go for an eReader purchase. It had a backlit screen (hence the glowlight), and was much more open than the Kindle in terms of file format (my fiancee wants to use it to read PDFs).

Having found out that they are being released in the UK in October (not the most specific of dates, consider we were in late September at the time), I went to the PC World website and preordered one. I was told that it wasn’t in stock (unsurprising, considered it hadn’t been released yet) and that they would send one to me as soon as they had them in.  Fine.

Today, I received an email I assumed was spam from your.order@dixonsretail.com, with the following content:

Dear Mrs Black,

I am sorry to inform you that the NOOK – Simple Touch GlowLight eReader – Black  that you ordered is currently out of stock.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience that you may have been caused on this occasion.

A way forward would be for you to browse our website to see if there is any alternative product matching the price, we would be happy to exchange your product.

We would be happy to issue you a full refund. If we do not hear from you within 48 hours we will assume that you would prefer to cancel your order.

If this is your preferred choice you do not need to contact us as your order will be automatically cancelled after 48 hours.

It would be great if you could give us a call on 0844 561 00 98 (Option1).

Again please accept our apology for any inconvenience this has caused.

We are looking forward to hearing from you.

Initially I thought that it was spam, and here’s why:

  1. I am not Mrs Black. I do not live with anyone called Mrs Black. Having said that, a few minutes later I received another email with my name instead of Mrs Black’s
  2. The item was a preorder, so I hadn’t expected it to be in stock yet
  3. The item was still for sale on the PC World website when I checked after receiving the email
  4. The correspondence was from Dixons. Although they’re related companies, you’d expect a bit of consistency
  5. I checked my order on my PC World account, and there was nothing to indicate a problem there
  6. There’s no email address or way to manage the situation electronically
  7. To me, the writing is jarring enough to alert my mental “spam” alert – it seems like a one size fits all template for mischief

However, some Googling has revealed that other people have had the same problem, and it is “legit”, i.e. their customer service is legitimately that bad. Honestly, I would’ve preferred spam.

I scooted over to the PC World site, and have emailed their customer service team to find out what’s going on.  Watch this space…

UPDATE: It wasn’t spam. They phoned – unfortunately the reception was terrible, but the gist seemed to be that my order WAS still active, and the email was triggered by their computer system.  Maybe it was a one-off, but if not I feel some like things need to be changed to make PC World a hassle-free choice for preorder.

Leave a Reply

